The church was one of three large Presbyterian churches in the square mile. It was completed in 1851. At the time the local newspapers carried a fierce debate about the aesthetics of the slope of the roof! The spire with its distinctive rooster weathervane ( “weathercock” ) was added in 1858. Initially the church was known as Chalmers Church after the founder of the Free Church of Scotland (Scottish Free Presbyterian Church). The name was changed to Scots in 1929. In 1957, an office block was added, faced with the same Glen Osmond Quarry stone as the church. The congregation joined the Uniting Church in Australia in 1977.
Entering the church building is like entering another world. The road noise disappears and you find yourself in a peaceful, quiet space. Beautiful stained glass windows depict biblical scenes and remember some of the great names of South Australia, such as Thomas Elder, Walter Watson Hughes, David Murray and William Ferguson. The northern window is a striking modern design and is unique in Australia, being the creation of a glass artist who worked on Coventry Cathedral. On the western entrance hang the colours of the South Australian Scottish Regiment. The southern end of the church is dominated by a Celtic Cross floating in front of the organ.
Worship is a blend of traditional and modern. The hymns are accompanied by the magnificent organ and the prayers have a time honoured feel. The message is contemporary, using the best of modern thinking and the community is welcoming and inclusive. Communion is open to all.